Ever since I got a Prism kite as a gift, the easily foldable/packable Stowaway Diamond, I have been absolutely in love with kites. On a recent trip to the Northern California Coast, home to the world’s oldest trees (the Redwoods, silly!), I even rushed to save my kite from the ocean as if I was trying to save my daughter from drowning. I guess that’s what I get for letting someone else fly it!

Anyways, I always enjoy when my client’s interests (outside of bikes) intersect with mine. Such is the case with the well-travelled cycletourist Jan Houtermans aka kiteplayer. He just happens to like kites, too. While browsing through his galleries, I found a glorious picture of a cyclist AS a kite, which was even more coincidental. Jan told me that he was not only a French professor of math and physics, but was well known for his remarkable kite making abilities. And does he deserve it. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves:


Any other kite flying cyclists out there? What’s your favourite?

