Up until 2004, Friday didn’t make fixed gears.  Then I found a dented Pocket Rocket Pro mainframe in the back room at the shop and I couldn’t resist the temptation to fix a Friday.  I opened up the QBP catalog and ordered some Surly horizontal dropouts.  I had been riding around on my old messenger bike, Mojo (which is now owned by mute-by-choice SoCal raw food mastermind and Friday owner Ito), which I had refurbished into a gorgeous fixie that I just loved.  I figured I could make a Friday that was essentially a duplicate of it.  I drew out the design on a napkin in between classes at UO and it wasn’t long before I had the bike finished and posted on the Fixed Gear Gallery.  Unexpectedly, it caused a flurry of inquiries, one thing led to another, and now we even advertise them in the catalog!

I spent many enjoyable miles on this bike, even taking it through rush hour traffic on the main drag from LAX with the trailer in tow.  And then there was the time I went on the lunch ride and hammered past everyone on Gimpl Hill.  Despite these memories, I must part with her so I can move on to the next project:  fixing my tikit!  Yes, with an Eric’s Eccentric ENO and some drop bars, I’ll feel more at home with the 16-inch-wheeled wonder

To further expedite the process, I offer to you a Pocket Rocket Pro Fixed Gear with a free overhaul (including new, as needed:  bar tape, bearings, brake pads, chain, cog, chainring, spokes, tires), a new stem (as needed) for a perfect fit, and a brand new coat of paint of your choice.  This will make me happy because then I can remove all those extra braze-ons.  Brand new, this whole package would probably run you something like $2600 (more like $3k with the paint job), and I offer this bike to you for a mere $1500.  I can package it up with a case, trailer, or whatever you need and ship it wherever you like.

Call me and she can be yours.  Call me within 3 days of this posting and she can be yours with free shipping, too.

Here’s the spec:

Bike Friday Fixed Gear #0: Red Bull
Bottom Bracket FSA Platinum Pro ISIS
Bar Tape Cinelli Gel
Handlebars TTT Less/199 42cm
Brake Shimano 105 with Kool Stop salmon pads
Cog EAI 14 tooth 1/8"
Chainring FSA 42 tooth 110mm bolt circle diameter
Chain Izumi Eco Gold 1/8"
Crank FSA BMX Carbon 165mm
Headset Chris King GripNut 1.25"
Front Hub American Classic Micro 16 hole
Rear Hub Surly New Hub fixed/free 32 hole with Wheelsmith quick release axle
Brake Levers Cane Creek Compact
Pedals MKS Custom Nuevo Keirin NJS-certified track pedals
Rims Alex AL-390 16 hole
Saddle Selle San Marco Era
Seatpost Kalloy Uno 27.2mm x 350mm
Spokes DT Competition Butted
Tires Schwalbe Stelvio 28-451mm folding

P.S.  I will personally guarantee the build, the frame and the fit.

Powered by Qumana

