Bike Friday Bantam
It’s time to make my daughter a new bike, so I offer this Bike Friday Bantam with 20″ wheels for $975. A new bike like this is worth about $1600 and it’s not seen a ton of use, so it’s a darn good deal for the short-statured, young or old.The spec is fairly basic but sturdy and sensible:

  • BF riser handlebars
  • Tektro brake levers
  • Avid Single Digit 5 v-brakes
  • Chris King GripNut headset
  • Kalloy seatpost
  • BF padded saddle
  • Vuelta 170mm crank
  • Crank shorteners (145, 125, 105, 85mm effective lengths)
  • BF alloy touring pedals
  • Shimano Ultegra 39 tooth chainring
  • KMC chain
  • 17 tooth freewheel
  • Shimano Deore front hub
  • White Industries Eno eccentric single speed rear hub
  • Continental Contact 1-3/8″ tires
  • Kickstand

Includes fittings for a rear rack, fenders, and a rear derailleur. Minimum inseam is about 16″. The shortest distance from the center of the pedal (at the 85mm effective length) to top of saddle is 15″, same as the lowest point on the frame (standover). The effective top tube is 48cm. By tilting the bar and adjusting stem lengths as necessary, one can achieve different effective reaches.

Price includes any resizing necessary, tune up as needed, professional packing (into the suitcase, if you like). It does not include shipping, but that’s ≤$70 in the contiguous U.S. Make sure to get in touch and send me your sizing so I can double check and correct as needed. Let me know any accessories you may need and get me your address. I’ll be in touch with a quote and my PayPal info and we should be set. Of course, you can come get it to save shipping and I will accept cash, check, or money order.

I know this bike made my daughter very happy and I’m sure it will have the same effect on its new owner. If it gets sold quick, Sierra should have a shiny new bike before she even notices the other one is gone. Although, I might have trouble with that rainbow color she asked for…

UPDATE 20 January 2011: Having had no hits on this I thought maybe the single speed nature is turning people off, so I thought I would suggest another possibility: for the same price, I’ll fit on a Shimano Deore rear wheel, 11-32 9sp cassette, and Shimano LX RapidFire shifters

